17. Introduction to Part III

Chapter Contents
17.1 Guidelines for Adapting the ADM Process | 17.2 Techniques for Architecture Development | 17.3 Using the TOGAF Framework with Different Architectural Styles

This chapter provides an introduction to the guidelines and techniques provided in Part III: ADM Guidelines & Techniques.1

17.1 Guidelines for Adapting the ADM Process

The Architecture Development Method (ADM) process can be adapted to deal with a number of different usage scenarios, including different process styles (e.g., the use of iteration) and also specific specialist architectures (such as security). Guidelines included within this part are as follows:

17.2 Techniques for Architecture Development

The following techniques are described within Part III: ADM Guidelines & Techniques to support specific tasks within the ADM:

17.3 Using the TOGAF Framework with Different Architectural Styles

The TOGAF framework is designed to be flexible and it can be used with various architectural styles. Further information can be found in the following Guides:

Architectural styles differ in terms of focus, form, techniques, materials, subject, and time period. Some styles can be considered as fashionable, others focused on particular aspects of Enterprise Architecture. The TOGAF standard is a generic framework intended to be used in a wide variety of environments. It is a flexible and extensible framework that can be readily adapted to a number of architectural styles.

An organization's Architecture Landscape can be expected to contain architecture work that is developed in many architectural styles. The TOGAF standard ensures that the needs of each stakeholder are appropriately addressed in the context of other stakeholders and the Baseline Architecture.

When using the TOGAF standard to support a specific architectural style the practitioner must take into account the combination of distinctive features in which architecture is performed or expressed. As a first step, the distinctive features of a style must be identified.

For example, The Open Group definition for SOA identifies the following distinctive features:

The second step is determining how these distinctive features will be addressed. Addressing a distinctive style should not call for significant changes to the TOGAF framework; instead it should adjust the models, viewpoints, and tools used by the practitioner.

In Phase B, Phase C, and Phase D the practitioner is expected to select the relevant architecture resources, including models, viewpoints, and tools, to properly describe the architecture domain and demonstrate that stakeholder concerns are addressed (see Part II, 7.3.1 Select Reference Models, Viewpoints, and Tools , 9.3.1 Select Reference Models, Viewpoints, and Tools , 10.3.1 Select Reference Models, Viewpoints, and Tools , and 11.3.1 Select Reference Models, Viewpoints, and Tools). Depending upon the distinctive features, different architectural styles will add new elements that must be described, highlight existing elements, adjust the notation used to describe the architecture, and focus the architect on some stakeholders or stakeholder concerns.

Addressing the distinctive features will usually include extensions to the Architecture Content Metamodel and the use of specific notation or modeling techniques and the identification of viewpoints. Whether the style is dominant will determine whether it is necessary to revisit the Preliminary Phase and make changes to the Architecture Capability or whether support for the distinctive feature is possible within the scope of selection expected within a single ADM cycle.

Style-specific reference models and maturity models are commonly used tools that support a practitioner.

During the lifetime of the TOGAF framework many architectural styles have been developed to address key problems facing practitioners and to demonstrate how the TOGAF framework can be made more relevant within defined contexts.

Some of these have been developed by The Open Group Forums and Work Groups working in specific areas and have been published in Guides, White Papers, and Standards. Examples include:

Some of these have been developed collaboratively between The Open Group and other bodies. Examples include:

The TOGAF Library (see https://publications.opengroup.org/togaf-library) includes an evolving list of documents providing advice and guidance for the application of the TOGAF framework within specific contexts.


Additional guidelines and techniques are available in the TOGAF Library.

return to top of page